USA Archery currently certifies 5 different levels of coaches.  To find out which level of coach meets your needs read the descriptions below:

Level 1 Instructor
A Level 1 Instructor is most closely associated with a “grassroots” program that is short-term in scope and focused on introducing basic archery skills to beginners. Such programs would include: camps, Scouting, 4-H, and Parks and Recreation. (minimum age 15)

Level 2 Instructor
A Level 2 Instructor works with a more established archery program such as J.O.A.D., A.S.A.P., college clubs and local clubs with a strong beginner component. Level 2 Instructors have the option to be certified as an instructor trainer to teach Level 1 and 2 courses. (minimum age 18)

Level 3-NTS Coach
The Level 3 course moves away from group instruction and into individual athlete development.  (minimum age 19)

Level 4-NTS Coach
The Level 4-NTS course develops coaches to be elite level coaches capable of developing high performing athletes for national and international competition. The Level 4-NTS Coach course provides education and training on coaching, communication, sports science in archery, psychology and biomechanics with a large emphasis on the National Training System. (minimum age 20)

Level 5-NTS Coach
Level 5 certification is the highest certification offered by USA Archery.  Level 5 Coaches have a minimum of 2 years experience as a Level 4 Coach.  Level 5 Coaches have personally coached students three or more archers to USAT Teams, national and international podiums.


USA Archery offers an online directory of coaches and instructors throughout the U.S.

**This information was acquired from the USA Archery website here.