Toxophilite of the Year Award

\Tox*oph”i*lite\, n. A lover of archery; one devoted to archery.

From 1975 to 2010 USA Archery Arizona (Formerly the Arizona State Archery Association ASAA) elected individuals of varying backgrounds and accomplishments for the annual Toxophilite Award, recognizing long term contributions to target archery in Arizona. USA Archery Arizona has revived the presentation of the Toxophilite of the Year Award as of 2018.


Dedicated to Alfred K. Henderson 
Al began his Arizona archery career in 1945 as
a competitor. In 1947 he began coaching and in 1952 started an archery business. In 1976 Al was chosen as the Professional Archer of the Year and the 1976 Olympic Archery Coach. He served as a board member for the PAA, ALOA, AAC and as the director of PAA Instructor’s School. Alfred K. Henderson was best known for his promotion of archery in all its aspects and his advancement of coaching techniques.


Dedicated to Margaret L. Klann 
Margaret began her Arizona archery career in 1945 as an instructor at ASU, where she taught and coached until 1976. During that time she produced many All Americans and National Champions. She was the founder of the NAA College Division and the driving force behind the formation of the ASAA. Margaret was active as an US Olympic Archery committee member and a NAA Board of Governors member.

1975Alfred K. Henderson 1975Margaret L. Klann
1976Alfred K. Henderson1976Margaret L. Klann
1977Fred D. Chesire1977Olive V. Crouch
1978Mark Vancas1978Sue Vancas
1979N/A1979Judi Plants
1980David H. Convery1980Irene Daubenspeck
1981Richard McKinney1981Sheri Rhodes
1982Les Court1982Maree Court
1983Richard McKinney1983Linda McMillen
1984Richard McKinney1984N/A
1985Richard McKinney1985Judi Adams
1986Jay Barrs1986Sheri Rhodes
1987Terry LaBeau1987Merion Rhodes
1988Jay Barrs1988Sheri Rhodes
1989Kevin Erlandson1989Michaela Dye
1990Terry LaBeau1990Wendy Erlandson
1991Steve Lewis1991Hilary Hirsch-Ascani
1992Michael Seddon1992Sheri Rhodes
1993Mike Fournier1993Diana Carr (LaBeau)
1994Kevin Erlandson1994Kathy Greene
1995Stewart Bowman1995Hilary Hirsch-Ascani
1996Terry LaBeau1996Kathy Greene
1997Jim Hamilton1997Lori Mitchell
1998Terry LaBeau1998Kathy Greene
1999Michael Koistenen1999Kathy Greene
2000Foster Gorman2000Kathy Greene
2001Ted Harden I & Ted Harden II2001Vivian Koistinen
2002Michael Koistenen2002Janice Price
2003 Robert Pian2003Nancy Myrick
2004Alan Huff2004Lindsay Pian
2005Harold Rush2005Barbara Noblet
2006Wayne Davidson2006Kari Granville
2007Dick Tone2007Janice Price
2009Mel Nichols2009Diane Tone
2010Mike Cullumber2010Michaela Richard & Paula Simpson
2018Terry LaBeau2018Diana LaBeau
2019Richard McKinney2019Catherine Belzner

Service Recognition Awards

2018 – Jackie Levario
Volunteer Recognition

2019 – Richard Bachman
Service & Leadership Recognition